Moving my blog to Silvrback  

I have been using Svbtle since it opened up to the public and in general I have enjoyed it. It’s has a very clean design and you get to blog in Markdown which is great when you typically talk about code.

But I have been wanting to set up a custom domain for my blog which typically requires paying for blog hosting (which I’m fine with). And if I’m going to be putting money into something I want to make sure it’s the best I can get for the money I’m spending. And that’s when I found Silvrback.

Basically Silvrback does everything that Svbtle does in terms of features from custom domain to letting people subscribe by email. I still do prefer Svbtle’s overall look, Silvrback isn’t far off. And then there is the fact that Silvrback is USD 30/year while Svtble works out to USD 72/year. Look quibbles aside, I just couldn’t ignore the difference, especially when I have Damian of Silvrback so responsive to questions/suggestions I had.

And so my blog/bio page is now at http://www.snarky.ca/ and is hosted by Silvrback (if you prefer HTTPS access you can get it through https://nothingbutsnark.silvrback.com/ but obviously that is not as stable as the custom domain).

 
87
Kudos
 
87
Kudos

Now read this

What I would buy my family for Xmas

My take on Xmas is to not buy gifts for anyone. More often than not people get you something that you didn’t really want, or if they did you then have to guess about the amount spent ahead of time to get them a proper gift to... Continue →