Should my family get tablets or laptops?

With the assumption that everyone in my family has a smartphone of some kind, the question becomes whether members of my family should buy a laptop or a tablet as their primary computing device while at home. I think my general answer is choose one or the other depending on whether you need a keyboard regularly, but you will only want either a laptop or tablet and not both.

I did a blog post once about why I thought the tablet craze has died down. I basically said that the differentiator between a tablet and a small laptop like a Chromebook was the lack of a keyboard. If you type a lot then the lack of a keyboard on a laptop can be a hindrance. While you can get keyboards for tablets, they typically are structured such that you must have a flat surface to place the tablet and keyboard on, unlike a laptop which will work as-is in your lap.

I have continued to agree with this assessment. The point of this blog post, though, is to say a good-sized tablet – that will depend on you, so try to play with various tablet sizes to see which ones seem reasonable – can replace a laptop if you don’t need a keyboard regularly. If you write emails on a regular basis, then get a laptop. But if you can live without a keyboard and you still have access to a laptop for those times when you need one then a tablet can work. It’s worked for my father-in-law quite well and I don’t see why it couldn’t work for other family members. And if you so choose to buy a tablet, the recommendations I made in my mobile phone post hold for which tablet to buy.

 
24
Kudos
 
24
Kudos

Now read this

Why WhatsApp made its web app use your phone as a server

Ever since WhatsApp announced their web app, I have seen various people complain about having to keep your phone on to send messages. But in all of these posts people seem to be overlooking two key points about the design of WhatsApp... Continue →